The history of the NGO Première Urgence – Aide Médicale Internationale (PU-AMI) starts in Afghanistan

In 1979, the world’s eyes turn to this country as it plunges into a war with soviet intervention. For the majority of the Afghan civilian population and mujahideen, unique assistance comes from international humanitarian organisations based in Pakistan. A small group of doctors and nurses from Paris decide to found the association Aide Médicale Internationale (AMI). The NGO plans to launch other actions around the world, but this intervention in Afghanistan remains the core of its mandate, and represents at the beginning 30% of its budget and means.

Over the 40 years that follow, AMI – soon becoming PU-AMI – orientates its activities in Afghanistan following the humanitarian context evolution.
For four decades, the chronical and urgent needs never disappeared, and the insecurity and consequences on the civilian population are still extremely present. The mission of PU-AMI has always been characterised by a strong medical mandate. PU-AMI teams provide access to primary care through the reinforcement of health facilities, from a healt post to a provincial hospital, including mobile clinics that respond to the vital needs of the population living in remote areas. Thanks to USAID/OFDA’s support, the teams also provide psychological support to the population affected by the war.

In 2020, after 40 years of continuous conflict, Afghanistan remains one of the most complex crisis zones in the world. Humanitarian aid is still needed today to support the most vulnerable populations. This year, PU-AMI have decided to put Afghanistan in the limelight and raise this humanitarian issue for debate. The exhibition “40 years of help” chronicles 40 years of humanitarian intervention in Afghanistan, from the first horseback border-crossing, to joint projects with the Afghan Ministry of Health.
40 years of evolutions and adaptations, with one unique objective: help Afghan civilians to bounce back and shape their own destiny.

L’histoire de Première Urgence Internationale commence en Afghanistan

En 1979, les yeux du monde se tournent vers ce pays alors qu’il plonge dans une guerre impliquant l’URSS. Pour la majorité de la population civile afghane et des moudjahidines, l’assistance vient uniquement des organisations humanitaires internationales basées au Pakistan. Un petit groupe de médecins et d’infirmières de Paris décide de fonder l’association Aide Médicale Internationale (AMI). L’ONG envisage de lancer d’autres actions à travers le monde, mais cette intervention en Afghanistan reste au cœur de son mandat, et représente au départ 30% de son budget et de ses moyens.

Au cours des 40 années qui suivent, AMI – bientôt PU-AMI, puis PUI – oriente ses activités en Afghanistan en suivant l’évolution du contexte humanitaire.
Pendant quatre décennies, les besoins chroniques et urgents n’ont jamais disparu, et l’insécurité et les conséquences sur la population civile sont toujours extrêmement présentes. La mission de Première Urgence Internationale a toujours été caractérisée par un mandat médical fort. Les équipes PU-AMI donnent accès aux soins primaires grâce au renforcement des structures de santé, du poste de santé à l’hôpital provincial, en passant par les cliniques mobiles qui répondent aux besoins vitaux de la population des zones reculées. Grâce au soutien de l’USAID / OFDA, les équipes apportent également un soutien psychologique aux populations touchées par la guerre.

En 2020, après 40 ans de conflit continu, l’Afghanistan reste l’une des zones de crise les plus complexes au monde. L’aide humanitaire est encore nécessaire aujourd’hui pour soutenir les populations les plus vulnérables. Cette année, Première Urgence Internationale a décidé de remettre l’Afghanistan dans la lumière et de soulever cette question humanitaire pour débattre et informer sur les enjeux humanitaires. L’exposition « 40 years of help » raconte 40 ans d’intervention humanitaire en Afghanistan, du premier passage à cheval de la frontière aux projets communs avec le ministère de la Santé en Afghanistan.
40 ans d’évolutions et d’adaptations, avec un objectif unique: aider les civils afghans à reprendre en main leur propre destin.